Quick Salsa

 

 

 

So, we’re back from camping, and I’m still exhausted two days later. Mega sunburn, gorgeous sunsets, fun fishing excursions, the works. It was great. It was great going with some of the best people we know- they made it so much more enjoyable for us. I know I can’t wait to go back.

 

ImageImageImage

 

But I’m sure that y’all aren’t too concerned with the landscape… You’re here for a recipe, right? right!

 

Image

 

I love love love love salsa. Enough that’d I’d probably gulp it if given the chance. My only problem is that most of it is WAY too spicy for me to eat, so I’ve taken to making my own. So far, no complaints from heat lovers, so I think I have everyone covered with this recipe.

 

We took it camping this last weekend to put on the breakfast burritos (which were a HUGE hit) and everyone loved it. The guys even requested that I make some for them to take to the office. YAY! I’m stoked that it only took about 20 minutes to make (and then sat in the fridge overnight to meld) considering I was up till 3am making a bajillion burritos.

 

Get yo’self some:

  • 2 containers of grape tomatoes (red)
  • 1 container of the sweet yellow tomatoes (same size as the red ones)
  • 4 tbs chopped cilantro (I added more because I LOVE cilantro)
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 medium-sized jalapeños, de-veined and seedless
  • the juice from half a lime
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 can of whole peeled tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Since I have a little bullet blender, I cut the tomatoes and jalapeños and then just added them in groups to the blender- once the first bit was all nice and mixed, I’d pour it out and then spoon another bit in. Just make sure you stir it really well. Or you know, use a real blender if you have one. Chill once all blended- the longer the time that it has to sit, the fuller the flavour. It’s worth the wait.

 

If when you get to the fridge the next morning and you see the lime juice at the bottom, just shake or stir it up- it won’t hurt anything!

 

ImageImage

 

And that’s it! It goes great with tortilla chips, taco rice bowls, and breakfast burritos. Well, pretty much anything you want. Also, if you’d like more heat, you can add more jalapeños – and if you’re extra daring, you can leave the seeds in. Just be careful! The capsaicin from the peppers can irritate eyes, cuts, and pretty much everything else. It got under my thumbnail and wasn’t pleasant for about 48 hours. A little trick I learned is to wash my hands with toothpaste. I know it sounds silly, but it seems to take the heat and smell out. (also works for onion hands!)

 

Hope this helps and that y’all enjoy!

 

CaliCo out! ❤ 

One thought on “Quick Salsa

Leave a Reply

