Campfire Breakfast Burritos

Image

 

Y’all. These. Were. Amazing.  And easy to make!

 

I spent a large chunk of my childhood in Colorado and California, and I’ve learned that I cannot live without green chili. And no, I don’t mean rotten chili, I mean fire-roasted, absolutely delectable, stewed green chiles. My only problem now is that Georgia doesn’t seem to have any grasp of this and I’ve been without for 7 years. I may or may not be dying. No fear, though! Our lovely Walmart has 68 cent cans of green chiles and they’re not half bad, so when I saw the opportunity to use them, I took it!

One of my favorite things growing up was stopping by the local breakfast burrito place and getting one every morning before school. So incredibly yummy and all wrapped up to take with ! Eggs, green chiles, sausage, and cheese. Pure heaven, y’all. I tried my best to recreate these, and I’m actually really happy with them. (Happy enough that I’ll make them again for camping next weekend!)

 

DSC_0495

 

Go ahead and gather your goods! (Please note that I forgot the cheese in this picture!)  The beauty of these burritos is that you can add whatever you please!

 

You will need:

  • 12 Medium eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk (I use 2%)
  • 8 large tortillas
  • 1 bag uncooked hash browns
  • 1lb mild breakfast sausage (non maple flavour)
  • 2 cans of the 4oz green chiles (I’d actually up the recipe to 3, but I love them)
  • 1lb bag of cheese- I used a Monterey Jack and Colby blend and it was awesome.
  • 1/2 a package of any bacon of your choice, chopped.
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 8 pieces of foil, large enough to double wrap the burritos. (10×16″)

Now this one had me a little frazzled because I didn’t have enough time to do each thing individually- instead I had to cook the bacon, sausage, and hash browns all at the same time. I think if I had a bigger cooktop it would have been easier. (To make this easier for y’all, I’ll do each item step by step)

 

Anywho. Get a medium skillet and warm it up with the vegetable oil in it. Once it’s nice and hot, add your hash browns. You’ll want to leave them alone for a little while, to build up the crispyness. Just make sure to stir them so they all get that way and don’t burn. Set aside.

In a small skillet- once hot, start cooking your bacon. It cooks pretty quickly since they’re chopped, so make sue they don’t burn! Once done, set aside (you can drain the grease if you want- I didn’t have much, so I didn’t bother)

Get your large skillet hot and add in the uncooked sausage. Work on browning it, and breaking it into little pieces. While that’s cooking, get a large bowl and crack the eggs into it. This is where you’ll add the milk and some salt and pepper. Mix that all up with a fork and set aside until the sausage is ready! While my sausage was cooking, I added in my bacon pieces to get the flavours to meld and I wound up adding in the hash browns as well to do the same. Made it 10x better. Trufax.

After those are all done and mixed, add your eggs in slowly. Stir them in and once they’re close to being done, add in the chiles.  It should look something like this once the eggs are all cooked:

DSC_0501

 

I pulled it off the heat so that I could add the cheese and allow it to cool down just a little. But go ahead and fold in your cheese (and try not to eat too much while doing so!) I was worried at first that it’d be way too much, but it actually was almost not enough- I may add more next time.

 

At this point, though, you’re all ready to start wrapping! I think I’d be fired within a week if I were ever hired on at Chipotle or Moe’s. I cannot fold a burrito to save my life. Maybe you guys will have better luck.

Get your tortilla ready!

DSC_0506

And then spoon a bit of the egg mixture onto it. You don’t want too much because it’ll be hard to roll, but you want enough for a breakfast.

 

DSC_0507

 

And start rolling those burritos! It took me quite some time to get the hang of it, but I had a few pretty ones out of the bunch!

DSC_0511 DSC_0509

 

Just make sure you wrap them tightly with the foil so they don’t leak when they’re on the grill.

DSC_0512

 

After you’re done, you can seal them in a ziploc baggie and store them in the fridge until you’re ready to use them. We had ours in the fridge and cooler for two days before we ate them and they turned out fine!

We found that 20 minutes on the grill (in the foil) was enough time to reheat, and re-melt all of the yummy cheese. We also found that having salsa on hand made them even yummier!

DSC_0606

 

I hope y’all enjoy! Happy camping and happy eating!

CaliCo out!

 

Leave a Reply

