Homemade Teriyaki-Flavoured Beef Jerky

Augh, I’ve failed over the last two weeks with getting recipes and posts up. For that, I apologize. Life has been nuts between work, dumb sicknesses going around, and getting ready to go camping (read: YAYYVACATION). I’ll see what I can get posted before we leave next week!

 

Speaking of camping, we’re working on getting some snacks ready to take with us- jerky being one of them. (Going to make a homemade trail mix and a smores tacklebox). Anywho, boyfriend made some a few weeks ago that smelled heavenly, but was waaay too spicy for me. It was some sort of Caribbean jerk mix and was hot as all get out. I’ll see if I can get his marinade recipe to share with you guys since his work buddies loved it so much.

 

Teriyaki is one of my absolute favorite flavours. Ever. Chicken, beef, anything. It’s divine in my book. After learning that I couldn’t eat the first batch boyfriend made, I begged him to make some teriyaki for me. So. Much. Happiness.

 

Image

 

The goods. The kitchen smelled absolutely amazing and it was pretty easy to do!

 

We just picked up a ginormous flank steak from Kroger and let it thaw almost all the way since it’s soooo much easier to cut if it’s still partially frozen.

 

Image

 

This is a photo from another recipe that I may be putting up, BUT I’m gonna use it since it’s exactly what we put on the beef for the marinade.

 

For super yummy jerky:

  • 1 lb beef flank steak, cut into thin strips (easier if partially frozen)
  • 1.5 tbs sesame oil
  • 3/4 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (it’s not too salty, I promise!)

Put all of it in a gallon ziploc bag and seal tightly. Toss it in the fridge, and let it marinate for 2-3 days. After that, pull it out and get your dehydrator set up. We laid the pieces out so that none were touching and put the lid on. Flip the switch and let it go for about 6+ hours. Our pieces were a bit thick, so this didn’t dry them out too much, but be sure to keep an eye on yours just in case.

 

But once it’s all done, I dare you to not eat it all up in one night. Mine’s long gone, so we definitely need to make more to take with us!

 

What combinations do y’all use for homemade jerky?

 

CaliCo out! ❤

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

