Double Green Smoothie

I think I’ve found a winning smoothie combination using lots of fruits and two greens: kale and spinach!

Image

It’s seriously that green- I didn’t touch up that photo. At. All.

I’m really surprised by how this one turned out. I bought some kale the other day to try since I’ve never had it before. Tasted it once I got home and ew. It’s super bitter, and definitely not something I’d ever put in a salad. But I’m willing to put it in my smoothies. I’ve read lots of articles on the benefits and let’s just say that I’m 100% game for this. Now, I’m not going to lie, I don’t have exact measurements for everything that I put in. I just pack the blender cup as full as I can and hope for the best. I’m slowly learning that there’s a method to packing the blender- otherwise it takes FOREVER to get through everything and get to the bottom and get it all blended.

Image

Anywho. You will need:

  • 1 small banana, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 of an apple, in small cubes as well (I recommend peeling it- I didn’t think to)
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup mixed fruit (picture below- I used a handful of frozen pineapple, mango, peaches, and strawberries
  • 1 cup kale
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach

Image

Only $9 at walmart, and lasts AGES.

Image

I’m glad that I wound up liking the kale in my smoothies, because I sure did buy a GINORMOUS bag.

Here’s the fun part, loading it all up. I made the mistake of putting my banana in first, and I mushed it to the bottom. Made it not so fun to get unstuck. But, it works.

Image

Image

And that’s the point that it all got stuck. Took forever to get the bananas down to the blade. Oh well. Worth it!

I wound up going back and adding more spinach and almond milk. More green and creamy and yum. But that’s it. Nothing crazy in this at all and it wound up being yummy. Only thing that bugged me was the texture. It was like soupy applesauce. Not bad, just weird. I do really enjoy this one, though!

Image

Leave a Reply

