Cilantro Lime Rice with Fajita Veggies

Image

I swear, every now and then, I get the strongest craving for cilantro in ALL THE THINGS. That craving hit me last weekend. Got home after a fun night with friends and found myself feeling tired and a little worn down, but super hungry. Boyfriend begged me to make some fried rice (y’all, he’s hooked on my fried rice. asks me to make it every few days!) and asked him if he’d be okay with a cilantro lime one. He was pretty hesitant, but agreed to try it. And boy, did we both like it!

It’s really really easy to make, and the addition of the few fresh sweet bell peppers made it that much more amazing!

You will need:

  • 1 cup white rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbs finely chopped cilantro (make sure it’s little pieces- the big ones definitely cleared my sinuses!)
  • 3 tbs vegetable oil + 1 tbs for the veggies
  • 4 tbs lime juice
  • 2 cups frozen fajita veggies (not sure what they’re called, that’s what it says on the bag. found them in the frozen vegetables at walmart for $2.97 for a huge bag and it’s got pre-cut green and red bell peppers and onions)
  • (optional) sweet bell peppers for garnish.

Get your water on the stove and boiling so that you can add your rice. Once the rice is in, add 1 tbs of vegetable oil and the salt and lower the temp to low medium and cover it. You’ll let it cook for 18-22 minutes, but as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, don’t take the lid off till you’re almost certain that it’s done. Don’t want to let the steam out!

While that’s boiling, get a little bowl for your cilantro. Add it (2 tbs of it), along with 2 tbs of the oil and the lime juice and stir it up. Set that aside, and grab a medium skillet. We need to get those veggies cooking. Add the remaining tablespoon of oil to the warm skillet and add in the vegetables. I added the rest of my cilantro along with a bit more lime juice to give them a bit of a kick. You don’t need the temp too high- you don’t want them to turn to mush. I left mine on low to medium for the duration of the cooking of the rice.

After the rice is done, mix in your oil and lime cilantro combination and stir it all up. It’ll smell amazing. Seriously. Reminds me of California.

Anywho. Start layering!

Image

Rice!

Image

Veggies!

Image

And now with the peppers!

Image

Just in case you’re curious, these are the peppers I buy for garnish and snacking (they’re delish!). I found them at Kroger for about $4. Not too bad!

And that’s it! Not too bad, huh? Perfect to make and then curl up in bed to watch Criminal Minds! (Penelope + Morgan = YES! <3)

The only thing I’d add/change is adding in some steak or chicken to make actual fajitas. Oh man, that’d be awesome. Annnnnd now my stomach’s growling. Morning smoothie time!

CaliCo out!

Leave a Reply

