One Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

Image

This may be the yummiest cooking mistake I’ve ever made. When I started this, I had NO intentions of it becoming a chicken noodle soup, but the longer it cooked, the more it resembled my favorite simple soup. On my Total Yum board on Pinterest, I’ve pinned several one-pot wonder dishes and I’ve tired a few. All absolutely yummy and really really easy to throw together- especially this one. Boyfriend went back a few times times to refill his bowl and I even ate leftovers of it! (I DON’T do leftovers usually, ew)

Image

Anywho, you’ll need:

  • 2 thawed boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into small pieces (though, I’d say use 3-4, we really liked how tender the chicken became)
  • 8-10 oz uncooked spaghetti noodles
  • 3/4 chopped carrots
  • 3-4 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced (wound up adding minced from a jar as well later because we’re garlic fanatics)
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken stock
  • 3 cups cold water
  • parsley
  • kosher salt
  • pepper
  • Lawry’s Seasoning salt
  • oregano
  • salt free Mrs. Dash seasoning
  • 1 bay leaf
  • celery seeds
  • garlic powder
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil

The next bit is really simple- just layer it all in, but leave liquid and spices for last

Image

Image

Image

Image

Also, as far as the spices go, I added these in pinches- the only ones I went back and added more were the seasoning salt and kosher salt. All the rest were pretty good with a few small shakes from the shaker.

I first brought all of it up to a boil for about 10 minutes, on high temp, and then reduced it to a simmer on low for a good 45-60 minutes. It smelled AMAZING. No lie, y’all. I loved the fact that you can make it all in the same pot and it all cooks up evenly. I was a bit worried that the noodles would get mushy, but they didn’t. You can definitely go ahead and freeze the leftovers, too! This makes enough for 6-8 bowls, which was way more than enough for us. So, freeze away my loves!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment