Green Smoothies

Image

I really really really love smoothies. Breakfast, lunch, dessert, post-workout. Whenever, wherever. I’ve seen a bajillion different smoothie recipes all over Pinterest- you can check out the board that I made here– but I’d always been curious about green smoothies. I cannot stand spinach one bit, and to see all of these claims from folks saying that you can’t taste it all made me want to try to make one even more. Now, of course there’s a TON of variations to get the smoothie the way you want it; this is just how I like mine!

This one is slightly different from my usual recipe, because I don’t have almond milk, plain yogurt, and fresh spinach- those are my main ingredients and I’m out. So I made due with what I had. Still yummy, though!

Today I used:

  • 1 Yoplait Light and Fit Strawberry yogurt
  • 1/4 pineapple chunks (from a can)
  • 1/4 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 small ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • Few chunks of frozen mango (leftover from a big bag of mixed fruit)
  • 1 tbs of milled flax seed
  • little crushed ice (if you have room in your blender)
  • handful of frozen spinach

I have a small single-use blender, so if I run out of room, I skip the ice, since I have cold items and some frozen ones. So long as it’s not warm because ew.

But from here, toss it all in and blend blend blend! You may need to check it occasionally to make sure that the spinach is getting all torn apart- I had a chunk get caught in my straw the other day because I didn’t look and I got really grossed out. 😛

Image

The other day (same day as spinach chunk ew), I skipped the milk and used pineapple juice instead and that was not awesome. It wasn’t bad, but the flavor definitely didn’t mix with the yogurt. Also, if you find that it’s not sweet enough, you can add a bit of honey or agave nectar. However, I don’t find that I need to add anything. It’s perfectly sweet AND no taste of that icky green veggie!

I think I’ll start throwing my recipes for other smoothies up here as soon as I get restocked on my smoothie stuffs. I’ve got a few that I’ve found to be perfect for pre-workouts and such.

Also, if you aren’t sure what milled flax seed is, here’s the bag that ours came in:

Image

You can pick it up from GMC, The Vitamin Shoppe, and Vitacost.com and it’s not too expensive. I typically use it when I add in protein powder or a pre-workout powder, but it’s okay to add when you want- it doesn’t add much of any flavor.

But, I hope you guys enjoy and please share your favorite smoothie recipes with me! I’m always willing to learn and try whatever!

Take care!

Leave a Reply

