Chicken and Vegetable soup

Image

 

This was one of those, “hey, let’s get something on the table quick before dinner using what random things we have” recipes. It worked quite well, and lasted for a few nights. Easy peasy! I’m a huge fan of chicken broth and chicken noodle soup, so I was really happy with how this turned out.

 

For this one, I used:

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 4 small potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 4 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 can of low sodium corn, drained
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 16 oz low sodium chicken stock
  • 4 cups water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • garlic powder
  • oregano

Yeah, writing it all down makes me realize how much I grabbed things randomly from my cupboards. Also, I use low sodium EVERYTHING just to give myself the illusion that I’m cooking healthily. That, and you can always add it back in to taste as you’d like.

 

SO! Go ahead and cook up your chicken- I seasoned it with the garlic powder, salt, and pepper and browned it just a little. Once that’s done, add in your chicken stock and water and let simmer for about 10 minutes. Once it smells all sorts of yummy, add your veggies! From there, I let mine cook for a few hours- my potatoes were breaking up by the end of it, and that’s completely fine with me. I added the spices as needed- the oregano gives a bit of depth to the broth. So good!

And that’s it! Pretty easy, and doesn’t take much to throw it together. I think it’d be great with carrots… May have to try that next time!

Leave a Reply

