Welcome!

Ever have that one friend that cannot create something ugly or awful? The one that can imagine the greatest thing in their mind, and then create it with their hands?

Yeah, that’s not me. I try and try, but nope. Tried my hand at drawing and painting, looked awful. Toddlers can draw better than me. Writing, nope. Makeup isn’t so bad- that I can actually do. But it’s taken lots and lots of practice, and that’s about all that I’m good at.

Cooking has never been my strong suit. My 22 year old self still would rather cereal at 10PM and manages to turn mac and cheese into mush. But you know what? I’m going to keep trying! Pinterest has taught me some cool things, and well, maybe there’s hope after all! And that brings me to the point of this blog. I’m going to keep a journal/collection of my recipes that I try and make my own. I’ve already got a few to share with you guys, and I really hope you enjoy and stick with me on this culinary journey!

I guess y’all may want to meet the person behind the noms, right? Let’s see. The name’s Jenalyn and I live in good ol’ Georgia with my ultra awesome boyfriend. We’ve got a pitbull named Sassy, and she’s literally the sweetest dog I’ve ever had. She kinda likes to torture our hermit crab, Achilles. Happy family, right? Very happy, actually! I’m originally from California (and a bit of my childhood was spent in Colorado- hence CaliCo!) so it’s been quite difficult getting acclimated to the area. Michael has been great- both him and his family have taken me in, and I’m incredibly lucky. His momma is an amazing cook, and she’s inspired me to try a bit more! We’re also working on getting healthy and fit, and a lot of it starts in the kitchen. I want to better us, and darnit, I’m going to try my best!

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the ride!

Photos below were taken by the wonderful Amanda S., of Amanda Carrie Photography!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

