Everything Soup

Image

 

Lately I’ve been really hooked on finding recipes to try from Pinterest. I recently had dental work done, so I’ve been eating soup so as to not irritate the teeth and I think I’ve struck gold with a few of the recipes.

The other night, I found this Hamburger Soup recipe and figured I’d give it my own spin since I didn’t quite have everything needed. I think it turned out pretty well, but most certainly does not taste like a hamburger, so that’s why I’ve renamed my version of it.

 

For this recipe, you’ll need:

  • 1 cup sliced carrots (I had leftover baby carrots from a superbowl party, so I just used those!)
  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 large potato, peeled and cubed 
  • 1 large diced onion
  • 1 can of low sodium corn, drained
  • 1 16oz can of diced tomatoes, not drained
  • 1 packet of onion soup mix
  • 6 cups of water
  • 1 8oz can of low sodium tomato sauce
  • 1 lb of ground turkey (you can use ground beef if you’d like, I just wanted to try it since I had it on hand)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • pepper & salt to taste
  • 2 tsp Lawry’s seasoning salt
  • tiny bit of Worcestershire sauce to taste
  • 1 can of low sodium v8 (I had some of the single serve cans in my fridge)
  • (optional) shredded cheddar cheese
  • (optional) sour cream

 

Wow, typing it all out, it looks like a lot, but it really isn’t- they’re all things I had in my kitchen.

 

I went ahead and cut up all my veggies beforehand, since you’ll need those after you brown the meat.

Image

 

Once that’s done, place your uncooked turkey in the pot that you’ll be using and brown it with the onions. After that’s done, add your spices and let it cook for about 60-90 seconds and then add the water and tomato sauce along with the Worcestershire. At this point, you can add the can of v8 if you opt to use it- I found that it added a bit more of a veggie taste, versus a tomato-based soup. 

Let it simmer for about 10 minutes on medium and then add in your veggies. From there, just let it simmer. I let it go- stirring occasionally- for about 45 minutes, but found that the veggies weren’t done enough for my liking. Overall, I think I let the soup simmer for about an hour and 15 minutes. 

 

Once done, boyfriend and I added a bit of cheddar cheese and sour cream to make it a little bit creamy. Now, if you add as much cheese as you see in the photo at the top (boyfriend’s bowl), you’re gonna have a bad time. It was great, but WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE. Though, if you like that much, go for it!

 

I’ve been eating the soup for a few days, and it’s only getting better. I wound up freezing a large bit of it, because the batch made so much. But I’m okay with this! Quick dinner or lunch when we’re running late! The great thing about this recipe is that it’s super easy to customize- you can add whatever you’d like and it’d still turn out great.

 

But, I hope y’all enjoy! Let me know how it turns out for you! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

